LivingGreen II

After a year of blog silence, I reappear to append my previous rant on greenwash. . .

This morning, I emptied a container of soy milk into the pancake batter that I was making, and, according to my bad habit, left it sitting on the counter instead of disposing of it.  After breakfast, the graphics on the container caught my eye:

Green caps for a greener world?  I stared incredulously at the green plastic cap.  According to the side panel, when I twist the plastic cap off of their non-recyclable package (and throw it in a landfill), I am “helping the environment” AND I get a chance to enter the “Green World Sweepstakes” where I can win a $40, 000 “green home makeover”!

After reading the fine print, I discovered that the way that I will be “helping” the environment is that when I submit an eligible UPC code, Silk will donate 33 cents to my choice of “two great green causes”.  I can already imagine what those “great green causes” are:

A)  purchase stock in a “clean” coal mining operation.

B)  Make a contribution to an agency that lobbies for relaxation of environmental restrictions on organic soy producers.

This entry was posted in big ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LivingGreen II

  1. rich says:

    Not sure if you’re heavy into soy milk or just trying it. Check out the Weston A Price web site for research on soy. We’ve moved away from its use.

    http://www.westonaprice.org/soy-alert/266-myths-and-truths-about-soy.html

    We ARE big consumers of yummy, fatty, naturally vitamin-filled raw milk from grass-fed cows, though. And may I say that the FDA and large corporate producers are not making it easy for us to buy!

    • juliabloom says:

      We prefer rice or almond milk – also use coconut milk and homemade cashew milk, but we do use soy milk occasionally. We also use cow’s milk if it’s free at the store or someone is getting rid of some, but I’ve noticed I don’t tolerate cow’s milk well anymore (and probably never did, just didn’t realize I could live a less -ahem- flatulent lifestyle if I skipped the milkshakes 🙂 I used to be very into the Weston Price website and still use my “Nourishing Traditions” cookbook from time to time, used to dream about finding raw milk, but could never work it out (farmers wouldn’t even return my calls! – because of the reasons you allude to).

      My mother-in-law did recently get some raw goat’s milk and shared some with us, and I liked it and didn’t notice a negative bodily reaction to it.

      I used to be very anti-soy, but I’ve just heard so much back-and-forth about it, that I’m not as stringent as I used to be. Still, I find myself coming back to basic, whole foods, locally produced, as the best choice. Though soybeans are grown everywhere, I’m not aware of a local soymilk producer – and it isn’t easy to avoid supporting industrial agriculture (which i think is ruining our environment) with a soy-based diet.

      • rich says:

        Interesting that you’ve already been to Weston A Price. Maybe I should ask if you’ve watched the documentary “Food Inc” as well? We liked it. I especially liked the farmer that spoke frequently. He was also a focus in the book, “The Omnivore’s Dilemma”.

        Shayna tells me (not sure where she read it) that most people with dairy allergies get it from pasteurized dairy products, as that process kills a lot of the healthy stuff found in raw milk and cheese (up to 50%). It’s the dead stuff in the pasteurized milk that allegedly causes the reactions. Not only that, but corporate cows are raised in very unsanitary conditions, which causes them to be sick much of their lives necessitating all of the antibiotics they receive. Grass-fed cows are much more naturally resilient and have more nutritious milk.

        We’re buying beef, chicken, milk and eggs direct from farmers. We consider upgrading from a small chest freezer to a larger upright freezer a tradeoff in terms of energy usage. Overall, buying our food in bulk and/or from the farmer will result in fewer trips to purchase things at the market. Not only that, but the food travels less too. It doesn’t have to ride in a giant milk truck to the plant for example to be pasteurized, then to a distribution warehouse, then to a grocery store, then to a household. I find a certain satisfaction in supporting farmers directly, since they’ve long been taken advantage of by the large corporations that enact policies to keep prices low. One example of this is the push to legislate the prevention of selling direct to consumer and the frenzy by the corporate-controlled FDA to shut down raw milk sales.

  2. l8again says:

    Yes, we just saw Food Inc. a couple of weeks ago! We love checking out documentary films from the library. They usually always leave us with something to talk about. Before that we watched “Crude Awakening” and the connection that those films make is pretty sobering when I start to consider how much oil it takes to produce the food I eat!

    I am really excited to hear that you are succeeding in localizing your food supply! So many of these problems (such as the latest egg recall) will disappear for good when people are in relationship with their farmers and are aware of how the food is being produced.

    Yesterday morning we played a 2-hour set along with my brother Micah at the local farmer’s market. The weather was beautiful, the produce is in its prime, the sound was right, the people were happy. . . it was idyllic!

Leave a Reply

